So today I decided to just do everything I’ve been wanting to do since I got home, and one of them involved going to the mom and pop pet store by me where I got my E’s in December. They haven’t changed much since December, except this time they seemed to be less helpful than last time (I think it was because the girls had to *gasp* enter the reptile room more than bad customer service). So they all look pretty bad, with a couple spry ones mixed in. There was this one large hermie that was this nice deep purple color (it looked like the picture second to the right on the HCA banner) that I almost bought, and the only reason I didn’t is because there isn’t enough room in my 10 gallon. Instead I got a micro and a small. I believe they’re both E’s (bad pictures at the end–they were taken on my cell phone). Anyway, once I get the lady to come back to the reptile room, I picked out my guys and she gave me… A paper bag. I looked at it, trying to figure out what she wanted me to do with it. When I realized she wanted me to put the crabs in there I asked her for a cup. She then gave me two condiment cups and a cover. I’m fighting yelling at her because she’s clearly that oblivious, and kind of stare at the covers for a while. Finally after she charges me (she had no idea what the price was–neither did almost anyone in the place) I ask for a scissor. She stares at me for a minute like I had stared at her when she gave me the bag, then said “oh, you want to make air holes?” Yes, yes I do. Stop looking at me like I’m crazy. Is it so wrong that I want them to breathe? Apparently. Anyway, so she covers the condiment cups and proceeds to cut holes in them with a razor–with the crabs in the cups. Thank god one was itty-bitty and the other was hiding in his shell (which is way too small for him, btw). So I carefully put the little cups in the little paper bag and leave before I seriously do something stupid.

But anyway, I have my two little guys. I didn’t check the bigger one, but I’m pretty sure the little one’s a girl (she moved too fast before I could confirm I saw gonopores). The little one, who I realized had two broken legs (the first knuckle on each are missing), and as I’ve said before, the bigger one has a really small shell on. The little guy hid behind my big guy, Talon, and I believe he has since dug down. I put the bigger guy in with the shells if he wants to change.

The Little One

The Little One (again)

The Little One (Shell)

The Big one (in the cup)

The Big One (in the cup from above)

The Paper Bag

The Little One hiding behind Talon

The Little One hiding behind Talon (2)